Exploratory Testing

Doing some reading during a lull in actual testing. James Bach has some interesting articles about exploratory testing, and this one that I’m reading about session-based test management. I lived in such a procedural, CMMI-based world for so long; now that I’m working in a more agile environment I have to re-learn what I thought I already knew and re-think a lot of my assumptions. That’s good – I find if I don’t challenge myself, I stagnate mentally. And that can be messy. 😉

Catching up on traditional reading (books, that is) too. In my off hours I have finally caught up on the whole Harry Potter series, and plan to start Deathly Hallows tonight. Just avoiding the spoilers in my various RSS feeds for the past two days has been a major challenge! After that’s done, I have a whole slew of books on deck, just waiting for my attention:

The World is Flat by Thomas L. Friedman

Getting Things Done by David Allen

The Paradox of Choice by Barry Schwartz

–  The Design of Everyday Things by Donald A. Norman

–  Freakonomics by Levitt and Dubner

Plus a whole pile of fiction and graphic novels…damn you, Swaptree.

Leave a Reply

